How to drain out incorrect p/s fluid

Started by peteshaz, May 4, 2020, 19:51

peteshaz

Hello everyone. Hope you and yours are well. I'm studying some YouTube videos on getting the old p/s stuff out of my system. The garage put in new p/s pipes and filled with green ATF fluid. I pointed out this was incorrect and they put in Comma LDS. Gave up on that garage as this isn't correct too.
Unfortunately all the videos I can find are all are on belt driven pumps. I want to drain without starting the engine you see...just turning the (slightly raised) wheels lock to lock while the return pipe is disconnected from the reservoir and poked down into a bottle...will this work? Also...it would be either Ravenol or Total DA fluid. Are both ok?
Regards Pete

105e

There is a mr2 roadster specific you tube video, cannot tell you how to find it..

Call the midlife!

The pump primes as soon as you turn the ignition on but I can't for the life of me remember if I had the engine running when I changed mine. 
The rest of the routine is sound though, pull the return, stick it securely in a securely held receptacle (it blows with some pressure) and do a few lock to locks but don't let it empty fully before you start topping with fresh.
@Carolyn will probably be able to clarify on the engine running or not.
60% of the time it works everytime...

Carolyn

I don't think I ran the motor when I did mine.

And yes the Total and Ravenol are both fine.
Perry Byrnes Memorial Award 2016, 2018.  Love this club. 
https://www.mr2roc.org/forum/index.php?topic=63866.0

peteshaz

Quote from: 105e on May  4, 2020, 21:37There is a mr2 roadster specific you tube video, cannot tell you how to find it..
Okedoke. Thanks...I'll search it out.
Pete

peteshaz

Quote from: Call the midlife! on May  4, 2020, 23:30The pump primes as soon as you turn the ignition on but I can't for the life of me remember if I had the engine running when I changed mine.